Nurture Challenge Inspire

A local school for the local community

0118 959 1868

Free Schools - What is a free school?

School Information

Free Schools

Prior to June 2010, state schools were set up and run by Local Authorities. After June 2010, the Government allowed communities to set up Free Schools. England’s mainstream Free Schools (like The Wren School) must be non-profit making and provide a broad and balanced curriculum including core subjects of Maths, English and Science, to pupils of statutory school age. Free Schools must always abide by the Schools Admission Code and take account of the SEN Code of Practice.

For more information about Free Schools visit the Department for Education website by clicking here

Term Dates

Term 2
Inset day – Mon 30 Oct 2017
Tue 31 Oct – Tue 19 Dec 2017
(Christmas holidays Wed 20 Dec 2017 – Tue 2 Jan 2018)
Term 3
Inset day – Wed 3 Jan 2018
Thu 4 Jan – Fri 9 Feb 2018
(Spring break Mon 12 Feb – Mon 19 Feb 2018)

 

SEE ALL DATES