Nurture Challenge Inspire

A local school for the local community

0118 959 1868

Train to Teach

Recruiting for a Teacher of Mathematics/Business Studies to start Easter 2020

We are currently seeking to appoint a Teacher of Mathematics or a Teacher of Business Studies (with an ability to teach maths) to start Easter 2020.  For further information please go to the vacancy page under the School Information tab.

Recruiting for an Attendance Officer and Teaching Assistants

We are currently seeking to appoint an Attendance Officer and Teaching Assistants to start January 2020 or as soon as possible thereafter.  For further information please go to the vacancy page under the School Information tab.

Admissions consultation opens Monday 25th November

The Excalibur Academies Trust wishes to consult on its admission arrangements for The Wren School for the academic year 2021-22.  The consultation will run from Monday 25th November 2019 to Monday 6th January 2020.  Details can be found here.  Any comments should be sent to Cathryn Poole [email protected] or c/o The Wren School 61-63 Bath Road, Reading, RG30 2BB.

Sixth Form Open Evening – Wednesday 27th November 2019

The Wren School Sixth Form Open Evening will be held on Wednesday 27th November, 4pm-6pm. This will include a talk from Mrs Broadhead, Headteacher & Mr Hollands, KS5 Leader.  Tours for will be available and departments will be in attendance to discuss their offer to students, parents and carers. This is a great opportunity to ask questions and begin to consider your post 16 options.

 

Parent Governor Vacancies – closing date extended

We have two vacancies for the role of parent governor to sit on our local governing body. If you are interested please go to the vacancies page under the school information tab. Applications to be received by Friday 15th November at midday.

Raising money for No.5 counselling service

Many congratulations to one of our governors, Mark Barrett, who successfully drove 3,000 miles to Georgia raising money for No 5 counselling service for children and young people in Reading. Fabulous effort!

You can still sponsor them on their just giving page – https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/tbilisitonka.

To read more about Mark’s story please click here.

Recruiting for a Teacher of Physical Education

We are currently seeking to appoint a teacher of PE to start as soon as possible.  For further information please go to the vacancy page under the school information tab.

Sixth Form Open Day – Wednesday 9th October 2019

The Wren School Sixth Form Open Evening will be held on Wednesday 9th October, 4pm-7pm. This will include a talk from Mrs Broadhead, Headteacher & Mr Hollands, KS5 Leader at 4.45pm & 5.45pm in the Theatre. Tours for will be available and departments will be in attendance to discuss their offer to students, parents and carers. This is a great opportunity to ask questions and begin to consider your post 16 options.

To see the school during the day on either of the dates below, please book an appointment by contacting the office on 0118 959 1868.

  • Monday 21st October 9.15am
  • Tuesday 12th November 9.15am
  • Wednesday 27th November 9.15am
  • Thursday 12th December 9.15am

 

Recruiting for a Teacher of Humanities

We are currently seeking to appoint a teacher of Humanities who specialises in Philosophy & Ethics to start January 2020 or sooner if available.  For further information please go to the vacancy page under the School Information tab.

Open Day – Wednesday 18th September 2019

Our Open Day is being held on Wednesday 18th September from 4.00 – 7.00pm.

To see the school during the day on either of the dates below, please book an appointment by contacting the office on 0118 959 1868.

  • Monday 23rd September 9.15am
  • Tuesday 1st October 9.15am
  • Wednesday 9th October 9.15am
  • Thursday 17th October 9.15am
  • Friday 25th October 9.15am

 

Term Dates

Term 3
Mon 6 Jan – Fri 14 Feb 2020
Spring break – Mon 17 Feb – Fri 21 Feb 2020
Term 4
Mon 24 Feb – Fri 3 Apr 2020
Easter holiday – Mon 6 Apr – Fri 17 Apr 2020

SEE ALL DATES